Executive Certificate in Adapted Physical Education for Students with Disabilities [Level I] (ONLINE)

Learners will be introduced the operating definition of Adapted/Adaptive Physical Education (AdpPE in short) and the difference between the two terms ‘adapted’ and ‘adaptive’. This program will take learners on a journey through history relevant to the development of AdpPE and how it has evolved through time. In addition, learners will be introduced to the guiding principles and practice of AdpPE.

Learners are introduced to the four different classification systems of students with disabilities (also known as exceptional children). The first classification system was introduced by Dunn (1963) and it covers 12 types: educable mentally retarded, trainable mentally retarded, gifted mentally retarded, emotionally disturbed, socially maladjusted, speech impaired, hard-of-hearing, deaf, partially seeing, blind, crippled, and chronically ill. 

The second classification system introduced by Cruickshank (1971) covers the following: physically disabled, speech defect, impaired vision, orthopedic impairments, auditory impairments, mental retardation, and emotionally disturbed. The third classification system introduced by Kirk (1972) covers communication disorders, mental deviations, sensory handicaps, neurologic & orthopedic impairments, and behavior disorders. The fourth classification system is based on the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 1997 (IDEA 1997) and Individual with Disabilities Education Improvement Act 2004 (IDEIA 2004). With a better understanding of the different disabilities or impairments, participants are introduced to the  International  Classification  of  Functioning,  Disability  and  Health  (ICF),  which is a  classification  of  the  health  components  of  functioning  and  disability,  approved  by all 191 World Health Organization  (WHO)  member  states  on  May  22,  2001,  during  the 54th World Health Assembly. The WHO’s initial classification for the effects of diseases, the International Classification of Impairments, Disabilities, and Handicaps (ICIDH), was created in 1980.

  • Unit 1: Defining Adapted Physical Education & Its Conceptual Framework
  • Unit 2: Historical & Evolutionary Development of Adapted Physical Education
  • Unit 3: Guiding Principles & Practice in Adapted Physical Education   
  • Unit 4: Classification of Students with Disabilities (IDEA 1997 & IDEIA 2004)
  • Unit 5: International Classification of Functioning, Disability & Health (ICF)


  • Assessment is based on coursework and assignments with no formal examinations
  • Guided learning hours to fulfill: 60 hours

Entry Requirements:


21 years and above

Minimum qualification

Diploma graduate in any discipline

English requirement

1.  Pearson Test of English (PTE) 51; or
2.  IELTS 5.5 (reading and writing must be at 5.5); or
3.  TOEFL 59
5.  Equivalent (such as Pearson Versant English Test). 

Course Fees:

(Non-refundable one-time application fee of SGD 95.00 is payable upon application)

Program fee

SGD 1,600.00

Marking fee

SGD 200.00

Payment mode

Stripe / Credit card / Alipay

Refund Terms

90% – more than 28 days before course commencement

50% – less than 28 days before course commencement

10% – less than 3 days before course commencement

  0% – more than 3 days after the course commencement